www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Frames and Divs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    310

    Frames and Divs

    It's been a long time, but I have a new question for you all.

    I'm now taking my Net.Art course at the Uni, the next assignment requires the use of frames, js and layers (divs) in order to generate intereactive collages.

    My question is, can we place a frameset inside a div, so that we can apply behaviours (Yes, we're using Dreamweaver MX 2004) to the divs? Thusly allowing us to target content from a navigation frame into these divs? And no, I will not being using iFrames.

    If not, is it possible to target content from one website into a div without the use of server side scripts? Since behaviours require javascript I wouldn't mind using js to target (ie. write content into) a div.

    Any recommendations?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    4,004
    No, you cannot place a frameset inside a DIV. In fact, you cannot place a frameset inside any element (except, of course, the HTML element).

    By “target content from a website into a div” do you mean retrieve source/data from another website and display it in a DIV? I believe you can, as long as the website is yours.
    Thousand different paths
    So many sterile ends
    I chose the Devil's path

    Never shall the sun kiss my face
    And caress me with it's burning light
    For I dwell in the shadows
    And sleep side by side with death

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    310
    Originally posted by Paul Jr
    No, you cannot place a frameset inside a DIV. In fact, you cannot place a frameset inside any element (except, of course, the HTML element).

    Yeah, that's what I thought. I kinda figured that the framset is up high on the hierarchy like body is. That's rather disappointing really.

    By “target content from a website into a div” do you mean retrieve source/data from another website and display it in a DIV? I believe you can, as long as the website is yours.
    So the next question is how? What would be the actual script (in js, no server side) in order for a link to write the page content into the div?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    4,004
    Originally posted by tonyh
    So the next question is how? What would be the actual script (in js, no server side) in order for a link to write the page content into the div?
    To be honest, I have no idea; I’m not even completely sure if it’s possible.
    Thousand different paths
    So many sterile ends
    I chose the Devil's path

    Never shall the sun kiss my face
    And caress me with it's burning light
    For I dwell in the shadows
    And sleep side by side with death

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    310
    Originally posted by Paul Jr
    To be honest, I have no idea; I’m not even completely sure if it’s possible.
    Atlest your being honest .

    I know how to use a js write, but it only writes directly into the html code. I could use it to write an URL, but I fear it wouldn't actually load the site itself, by write the URL itself as text into the div. And that may be the limitations of using js, it's purely client side, it may not be able to access the site contents on the server.

    I know you can use js to simulate a pop up window with a different URL, is there anyway to adapt that to an existing div within the current page?

    Is it possible to do this using CSS? As mentioned we are already using behaviours, is it possible to similulate a frame like functionality by changing the display/visibility of multiple layers?
    Last edited by tonyh; 10-04-2004 at 10:41 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    4,004
    Well I would post a thread in the JS section, you’ll probably get better results there. Good luck with your project.
    Thousand different paths
    So many sterile ends
    I chose the Devil's path

    Never shall the sun kiss my face
    And caress me with it's burning light
    For I dwell in the shadows
    And sleep side by side with death

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    edit again: whoops. I was an idiot and missed the part of your post where you said you wouldn't use iframes. but just as a side note, I don't think there is any other way to target external content except for iframes in this scenario.
    Last edited by Protofish; 10-08-2004 at 06:22 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles