www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: this website

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Amsterdam, Netherlands, Europe, Earth...
    Posts
    38

    this website

    I really like this site and the people it attracks.
    But can't something be done about the width of the content?
    Often i have to vertically scroll to read a post and then horizontally to read more, you have to scroll so often.

    i'm using safari 1.2

    regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,147
    I've never used safari, but in IE the reason for horizontal scrolling is that some people use the code tag, which prevents line breaks, hence widening the entire page.
    Horizontal scrolling to posts is around the adverts, which the forum wouldn't be able to run without...
    so on the whole, no, nothing can be done.
    In a world without walls and fences - who needs Windows and Gates?! - Unknown Author
    "And there's Bill Gates, the...most...famous...man in the...ah...Microsoft." -- A TV commentator for the 2000 Olympics.


    Web Design Faq? | W3C | Validator | Accessibility testing | Speed up your PC | Wura | Box Model Research

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Amsterdam, Netherlands, Europe, Earth...
    Posts
    38
    code? you mean pre?

    how can i prevent this?
    by hitting enter before i get to the right side of the textaera i'm now typing in?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3,056
    You could always just whack down the font size when you're in a "wide thread" I suppose.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A series of tubes known as the "internets"
    Posts
    2,165
    i haven't seen any problems with this site in safari on OS X. which OS is on the computer?
    "Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside a dog, it is too dark to read." - Mark Twain

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,147
    this line will not break so you should now get horizontal scolling in this thread unless ofcourse you have a very high screen resolution in which case you will have paid a lot of money for your monitor and graphics card which no doubt are of very high quality though I suppose you could be using a cheap monitor and graphics card but just have them at unreadable resolutions... That's the code tag I referred to. Use CODE in sqyare brackets in the reply box. basically it gives you syntax highlighting, but removes screen breaks. Some people use it and it then ends up with horzontal scrolling. Post a reply when you have read this and I will remove it because it bugs me too.


    [edit]Code tags removed 'cos I'm fed up of them now[/edit]
    In a world without walls and fences - who needs Windows and Gates?! - Unknown Author
    "And there's Bill Gates, the...most...famous...man in the...ah...Microsoft." -- A TV commentator for the 2000 Olympics.


    Web Design Faq? | W3C | Validator | Accessibility testing | Speed up your PC | Wura | Box Model Research

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    610
    oh how i hate that.
    More of a journal than a blog.

    Truly great madness cannot be achieved without significant intelligence.
    GMail | Mezzoblue | 1976 Design | Zeldman | Justwatchthesky | Jon Hicks | Airbag | All In The Head

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,276
    I use code tags as well, mainly for posting JavaScript in, looking at code is the one time when you don't want line breaks so it's OK.

    I know that sometimes people post code with insanely long lines in it and that sucks but what can you do?
    It's code, if there were line breaks in it, it just wouldn't work.
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3,056
    I would say why not have a little symbol at a code-breaking line break. But I'm assuming it's rare (if ever) that the source for these forums gets tweaked?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,147
    yes.
    In a world without walls and fences - who needs Windows and Gates?! - Unknown Author
    "And there's Bill Gates, the...most...famous...man in the...ah...Microsoft." -- A TV commentator for the 2000 Olympics.


    Web Design Faq? | W3C | Validator | Accessibility testing | Speed up your PC | Wura | Box Model Research

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    Originally posted by Mr Herer
    I would say why not have a little symbol at a code-breaking line break. But I'm assuming it's rare (if ever) that the source for these forums gets tweaked?
    But then copy and pasting would be very difficult. I don't like horizontal scrollbars, but I'm glad that the CODE tags allow for preformatted text to appear exactly as it was written on the page.
    Visit Slightly Remarkable to see my portfolio, resumé, and consulting rates.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,654
    Scroll the code box only when it's too big:
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
       "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
    <html lang="en">
    <head>
    <title>code scroller</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
    
    <style type="text/css">
    <!-- 
    .codebox {
    width:80%;
    }
    .codecontent {
    width:100%;
    overflow:auto;
    overflow-y:hidden;
    padding:0 0.5em 1em 0.5em;
    margin-bottom:0;
    }
    -->
    </style>
    
    </head>
    <body>
    <blockquote class="codebox"><font face="verdana,arial,helvetica" size="1" >code:</font><hr /><pre class="codecontent">
    <!-- user's code -->
    </pre><hr /></blockquote>
    </body>
    </html>
    A little css and shift the second <hr>

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,276
    I think that's similar to what vBulliten 3 does, only the "code" block scrolls.

    You could always add it to a users style sheet and apply it to the page with the web-dev toolbar extension.
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,654
    Just tried that. It does work, but you have to reload it after a page refresh.
    Last edited by Fang; 10-14-2004 at 06:15 AM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    6,276
    I think that there's a "persist styles" option somewhere. I can't remember where, it's been a while since I've used Firefox.
    Every fight is a food fight when you’re a cannibal.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles