dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: tell a program to delete text?

tell a program to delete text?

Hello all -
    I am currently in JAVA I, so please bare with me. We are writing really simple programs, but i guess im a good student cause i always get done first and add more crap. Question is:

Is there a way to make a JAVA program (Class:main) delete output text that we tell our program to write?

Example: System.out.print("Hellol");
    <I want to be able to make the program delete that>
    System.out.print("Hello");

I know that I can always re-print this text to make it look like it deleted the word, but thats not my style. Please help, this is killing me.

Also, I often make the program look like it is 'typing' words, like this:
    Thread.sleep(90);
    System.out.print("H");
    Thread.sleep(90);
    System.out.print("e");
    Thread.sleep(90);
    System.out.print("l");
    Thread.sleep(90);
    System.out.print("l");
    Thread.sleep(90);
    System.out.print("o");

yup... too much time on my hands... anyways, I know there is an easier way to do this, with a String and a For loop perhaps, but i dont know what to type... Please help with this, also... Thanks.

I don't think once you have text on the console,you can delete it unless you reprint...there may be an option where you can run a dos command to clear the console....lets see if some one else understood your question better and come up with a solution..
    Cheers

Khalid

Message Posting Guidelines In These Forums, Please read these before posting any question.
    Web site: webapplikations.com
    Web Resources Page:Web Resources

Very system dependent but on some systems you can print backspace-space-backspace to delete the last character printed to a line and position the cursor to overwrite that position.

did you want continous input from user? if so that you are able to delete
    System.in
    is something to read on if this is the case.
    Cheers

Khalid