dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: What Do I Need To Learn To Become A Web Developer

What Do I Need To Learn To Become A Web Developer

Hello, I am totally new to web design, but I would like to know if anyone would be willing to give me information on:
    1. What programs I will eventually need to learn to become a successful web developer.
    2. Can you become a self taught web developer or does one need to go to school for it.
    3. What made you become interested in web development?

The programs that I currently have are:
    Dreamweaver MX (which i've never used)
    Adobe Photoshop 7.0 (i'm an almost advanced user)
    Adobe Photoshop Cs (never used)
    Adobe Illustrator 7.0 (never used)

Thanks in advance for all of the advice and input!!!!!

First thing you need to learn is not to cross-post

The first two things you'll need are a text only editor and a hell of a lot of patience. I started out with Notepad from Microsoft and an internet connection and as far as I'm concerned, I'm doing pretty well.

I strongly recomend not Using Dreamweaver at all until you have learned html. Don't worry, html is easy to grasp to start with. Here's the one big trick to getting to grips with html: Do not think of it as anything complicated or special like a programming language. It is not a programming language and is used for nothing more than simply giving meaning to the content of your documents. Just think of it al a highlighter pen. Y'know, those disgustingly coloured pens that you use to mark up texts and scripts. Like say you have a script for a part of a play with two people in it called Ben and Jane. You'd use one colour to mark all Jane's lines and another to mark all Ben's lines. That way you can see which parts are which at a glance. Well html is pretty much the same thing. You wouldn't believe how many people ask how to build a forum with html because they assume it to be something which makes everything on the net. It isn't.