www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hover effect extending with cell border.

Question Hover effect extending with cell border.

Here's one that CSS seems to be showing its limitations on (I'm new to website building- so I could be wrong- but here goes):

I have a text link with a mouse-over hover effect within a border. I set the right side cell padding between the border and the text link to be-- let's say, 10px. When I hold the mouse curser over the link, the hover effect extends the length of the cell padding. I want it to only highlight the text but at the same time I want that 10px cell padding between the text link and its right side border. To get the cell padding I want, I lose the mouse over effect I want. To get the mouse over effect I want, I lose the cell padding I want. In CSS it seems I can't have both. What's the deal?
    Last edited by mike444; 03-05-2003 at 11:43 AM.

Re: Hover effect extending with cell border.

Originally posted by mike444
    ...but at the same time I want that 10px cell padding between the text link and its right side border.

You want WHAT with the padding?
    I think you left out a few words there, becuise I can't make sence of what you mean by that.

Re: Re: Hover effect extending with cell border.

Originally posted by Stefan

You want WHAT with the padding?
    I think you left out a few words there, becuise I can't make sence of what you mean by that.
    You know how when you have back ground shading that appears when the curser is over your text links? Well, that shading usually only covers the text that makes up the link. But when I add "cell padding" to a rule with a text link, the shading for that text link extends the length between the last letter in the text link to the border. In other words,

Without cell padding :

Text Link<---Hover effect shading stops here*.

With cell padding :

Text Link.............<---Hover effect shading stops here*.

*"Here" refers to tip of arrow.