www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Makeing a search engine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Rosemount, MN
    Posts
    2,287

    Makeing a search engine

    Anyone know how I could make a program that would make a search engine? I think coldfusion does, but don't you need to buy the software for that? Is there a tutorial out there for doing this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,972
    A list apart has an article on it. (clicky), it's not easy though. I'd go for the much much easier idea:
    Code:
    <!--note, this is guessed without reference, probaly contains one or more mistake -->
    <form method="post" action="http://google.com/search">
    <input id="q" type="text" />
    </form>
    Last edited by the tree; 01-17-2005 at 01:56 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    4846′36″ N 910′48″ E
    Posts
    3,747
    well, u surely have to go for a server-side language, but not necessarly coldfusion, particularly if u dont have it yet.
    you could go for php, perl, asp, aspnet, etc...

    but you will need serious bases in order to code such a program

    give this a try:
    http://www.hotscripts.com/search/2123715.html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    A site search != a search engine. If you want to run a real search engine that indexes plenty of sites you are going to need a dedicated box (depending on size you will need more) and your own line.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    4846′36″ N 910′48″ E
    Posts
    3,747
    haha, i dont know why, i saw site search instead of search engine...sry little guy
    did you actually mean a search engine? like google &co..?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3,081
    A site search is a simple matter of either designing your own database sensibly in the first place and/or just asking google to do it for you. If you mean actually starting your own search service though, you're talking about a pretty serious undertaking there. To provide the level of service that people would expect you would need a legion of machines and servers and a pipe so wide it looks like it's been fed on a life long diet of extra fat lard. You're talking very serious money.
    I'm thuper, thanks for asking.

    It lives! http://www.stephenphilbin.com/ (Well it kinda' does anyway).
    My portable colour selection tool

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    Well not really if it is a small search engine, google started out of a garrage on a t1 (IIRC). But if your engine is any good and gets any kind of traffic you will need plenty of boxes (maybe blade servers or something) to do the searching and you will need a huge line, like Herer said. Google's data center is amazing, they have aisles of rack servers.

    Home made search engine: http://backrub.nerisoft.com/May1998/hardware.htm from back in the day.
    Last edited by PeOfEo; 01-17-2005 at 11:50 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3,081
    Yeah that's what I said. If you wanna start something that other people would seriously consider using, then you'll need that.
    I'm thuper, thanks for asking.

    It lives! http://www.stephenphilbin.com/ (Well it kinda' does anyway).
    My portable colour selection tool

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles