www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Hibernate Issues....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Alabama, United States
    Posts
    833

    Hibernate Issues....

    Strangest thing is going on so I'm wondering if anyone else has suffered this and found a solution other than a complete reload.

    First, let me say this, I know for a fact that no spyware, ad-ware, or other malicious software exists on my system; I make it a point to know my system.

    Here's the problem. I get to Power Managment and check "Enable Hibernate"; on clicking apply or ok, Windows tells me that it cannot reserve the file and that another process is using it. (See attached)
    I always have "Hide Hidden and System Files" disabled, as well as "Hide protected operating system files", so I searched for the hibernation file, nothing. Searched thorough all running procs for a handle to the file, nothing. What is going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Alabama, United States
    Posts
    833

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Alabama, United States
    Posts
    833
    Nevermind guys, I cracked it.

    Having the thought that the Dialog could have been talking about a power management file and not the hiber file it self; I came to the realization that Alcohol 120% was the culprit (it uses ATAPI.sys, as does Power Managment). I uninstalled A120, enabled Hibernate, then reinstalled A120 and it works without a hitch now. So, there's the solution if any of you guys have this problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    I ran into the problem too. But I usually just enable hybernate when I first install windows then there is never any problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Alabama, United States
    Posts
    833

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    SPENCER
    Posts
    4

    had that problem too

    yeah i had that problem too, only with zone alarm (which i find to be intrusive, but effective security parameters), but i too enable hibernet upon the installing or more Reinstalling if anything.. hahah..
    Last edited by lunaticwraith; 01-25-2005 at 10:44 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles