www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ms-dos

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    midlands uk
    Posts
    274

    ms-dos

    hi all.

    i have a friend who has just installed xp sp1a and a new slave hd
    250gb.

    when the computer starts up it shows error ntldr is missing.

    i have created a startup disk for him and put ntldr on the floppy too.

    i am trying to copy ntldr to the system hd .
    when i enter the command prompt i cant change the directory by using

    cd c:

    it just says invalid drive spec.

    ive tried using command and cmd and both have the same prob.

    ive also tried using the 6 boot disks but to use the recovery console you need the admin password and he dosnt know it.
    tried using blank but no joy..

    any suggestions?
    I can remember when the air was clean and sex was dirty.

    shepherd web design

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    just type c:
    and you will be at c:\
    then use cd to get over to the directory that file needs to be in and then use the copy command to get the file from the disk.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    midlands uk
    Posts
    274
    tried

    c:

    still get invalid drive specification
    I can remember when the air was clean and sex was dirty.

    shepherd web design

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    Originally posted by andyshep
    tried

    c:

    still get invalid drive specification
    Huh. Well typing the drive should work. Try cd c:\

    Try booting from the xp pro cd and using its console (select the repair option when it asks you if you want to repair or install) and then try to copy the file over from the cd. Is there anyway you can boot into safemode w/ command prompt, where all it does is load the graphical environment and the console?
    Last edited by PeOfEo; 01-23-2005 at 07:06 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    midlands uk
    Posts
    274
    cd c:\ doesnt work either. error invalid drive specification.

    it will not boot in safe mode at all.

    i have not used ther repair console from the cd before.
    can you copy just single files?

    and dont you need the admin password to use the repair console.
    we have no idea what the password is..
    andy
    Last edited by andyshep; 01-24-2005 at 08:41 AM.
    I can remember when the air was clean and sex was dirty.

    shepherd web design

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    midlands uk
    Posts
    274

    problem solved

    solved the problem .
    the bios setttings were wrong for the hd

    thx for your help peofeo
    I can remember when the air was clean and sex was dirty.

    shepherd web design

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Auburn, AL
    Posts
    9,222
    No problem.

    Yes you can copy single files using repair console. Re[air console is a fully unctioning copy of dos IIRC with some extra repair utilities.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles