Thread: Email form

Email form

I am a newbie using java script forms.

I need an email form so that people can click a button, and their default email application will come up, with the "Send to" filled out with my email address.

For example, if my email address is: mike@test.com

And my html page has this on it:

*Please contact Mike with any questions - <flash button that says Email Mike>*

I have seen lots of form scripts for stuff like this, but I have no idea how to actually implement the script, where to put it, etc. Every explanation I've seen assumes a level of understanding that I do not have apparently, because all of my attempts have failed. I follow the instructions (I think) and it never works. My email application never comes up when I click the button. I just get an html page that says - page not found, or something to that effect.

Manhattan NY
    If you want what you said, you don't need JS at all. Do you want a link to email to you, or do you want a form filled out and have that mailed to you?

If all you want is an email to come up with your addy in the "to", then do this:

<a href="mailto:mike@test.com">CLICK HERE</a>

if you want a form mailed, then:

<form method="post" name="mail" action="mailto:mike@test.com?subject=customers" enctype="text/plain">

Originally posted by Trigolt
    I need an email form so that people can click a button, and their default email application will come up ...
    What if they have no "default" email application at all?

Otherwise, there is no script required for this.
    You just need a standard HTML form:
    <form method="get" action="mailto&#58;mike@test.com">
        <input type="hidden" name="subject" alt="email subject" value="Re:Questions">
        <input type="submit" name="emailme" alt="email submit" value="Email Mike">
    Last edited by phpnovice; 01-25-2005 at 05:46 PM.

Auburn, AL