www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Home server

Home server

I figured I'd go ahead and set up a Linux server on my home network to do all my programming before uploading, to conserve bandwidth. So now I'm stuck and am looking for anyone that can set me straight with some advice or usefull links. My computor is windows based. I want to be able to upload to my home server, have it run scripts (perl,php), then serve the results to my browser.

So far, I've installed Debian 3 woody, installed apache, installed php4, Perl with additional modules are in. I've set up default TCP/IP. I have some experience with the Bourne shell.

Here's my problem. I haven't a clue what to do to make everything work. I've read a good amount of info in regards to the components, but can't find a simple article on tying them all together so that I can go back to my PC and develop sites similar to my webhosters service.

Any help would be appreciated.

Do you have any experiance using/setting up a Linux machine? If not, I'd recommend using a Windows based server -- reason being; one can cause some damage to a linux installation while logged in as 'su' (root) if they aren't really sure of how things work.

Absolutely not. Windows servers are the most suseptible to viruses and malware, and are likely to have broken security and infection. For servers, Linux is the best.

Originally posted by theuedimaster
    Absolutely not. Windows servers are the most suseptible to viruses and malware, and are likely to have broken security and infection. For servers, Linux is the best.
    I didn't say Windows was a better server. In fact, I have to agree with you. However, Linux in not an OS you can learn overnight.

Originally posted by theuedimaster