dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Monitor problem, green not showing

Hybrid View

Monitor problem, green not showing

Hi there,

I guess my monitor is dying! Maybe this is the time to go TFT..
    Anyway, I just wanted to know if anyone has experienced this before. The thing is, the green color doesn't seem to show up.. so the effect is a total reddish tint that makes headaches! At first I couldn't say what the problem was, but then I started playing with the color controls and I realized that moving the green slider didn't change the picture.
    This happens everytime I turn the monitor on, every morning, then after some minutes the image suddenly transforms and it's all ok. However, some days (like today) the son of a bit** just stays red! See the picture below, it's a close-up of the Dreamweaver shortcut on my taskbar. As you all probably know, it's supposed to be green, but it's orange..
    Does anyone have a clue on whether this is a monitor or a graphics card problem?

http://pwp.net.ipl.pt/alunos.escs/29...nitor_prob.jpg

If you can take a screen shot of it and it is not green to us then it is not a moniter issue. You posted a photograph, but post a screen shot and we will look at it. It sounds most like a graphics card issue. You running nvidia? I can't help you with ati but I run an nvidia card so I might be able to look at my settings and try to reproduce this.

ps: I can turn off green completely and adjust contrasts, hues, and all sorts of stuff from my video card controls.
    Last edited by PeOfEo; 01-31-2005 at 07:28 PM.

I actually didn't think about the screenshot thing!
    I'm using an ATI card.. here's a screenshot, check out the green button, it's black here!

http://pwp.net.ipl.pt/alunos.escs/29.../ati_shot1.jpg

It looks green to me.