dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: drop long drop down menu and scrolling

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation drop long drop down menu and scrolling

    Hello,

    I have a css horizontal drop down menu. But some of the drop downed menus are longer than the page, resutling of a part of the drop downlist not being accessable (as if one tries to scroll, the just made visible menu is undone by hovering away from it).

    How can one solve this? And I do not mean things like changing the font-size or fiddeling with margins and paddings .


    Kind regards,

    A belgian guy.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    379
    Er, can I see the site first? One solution could be getting a bigger monitor... another thing could be changing the height of each item in the menu...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    How can one solve this? And I do not mean things like changing the font-size or fiddeling with margins and paddings
    Redesign the menu taxonomy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3
    Hello,

    Thanx for your replies, but as indicated in my first message, I'm looking for REAL solution . Redesigning the taxonomy is not an option. The menus are used to navigate through a huge product database of a company selling teak furniture, decoration etc,... .

    As it is desirable for the description part of a product (manufacturer, productname,...) to get indexed (hopefully ) by google, form drop down navigation is not an option, as the google bot doesn't fill out forms. So that is why I'm using a CSS-dropdown menu containing plain links.

    So if somebody would know of any suitable solution, please share it with me.

    Kind regards,


    A belgian guy

    ps.: The site is not online yet, as it accesses a non-standard database which I can't put offsite,... .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    Change the behaviour so it is click rather than hover activated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3
    Hello,

    Thanx everybody for your help anyway (despite the rather useless answers ).

    Kind regards,

    A belgian guy

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles