www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Extracting table info after using myql_list_tables.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7

    Extracting table info after using myql_list_tables.

    Hi all,

    Hopefully someone can show me where I'm going wrong.

    I'm attempting to write some code that will list all the tables in a database and then extract the same information from each table. The output would be something like:

    TABLE_1
    info1
    info2

    TABLE_2
    info1
    info2

    etc.....

    I can get it to list all the tables (the number could vary - so not want to hard code) by using:

    $result= mysql_list_tables(database);

    while ($row = mysql_fetch_row($result))
    {
    print "$row[0]";
    }

    and can select the required information from all the tables if I list them individually. How do I combine the two? I thought that the select code would go inside the while loop (a loop within a loop would appear to be the logical approach as I have similar commands working in c++) but it throws up mysql errors.


    thanks for any advice!

    Clive.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,676
    try
    PHP Code:
    $data = array();

    $db mysql_connect();
    mysql_select_db('db'$db);

    $tbls mysql_list_tables();

    while(list(
    $tbl) = each($tbls))
    {
        
    $result mysql_query("SELECT `info1`, `info2` FROM `$tbl`");

        while(
    $row mysql_fetch_array($resultMYSQL_ASSOC))
        {
            
    $data[] = $row
        
    }
        
    mysql_free_result($result);


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    18,923
    FYI, mysql_list_tables() is deprecated, and the prefered method to get that info is now...
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SHOW TABLES"); 
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for that. Can get the tables listed fine but experiencing problems with displaying the actual data. I've tried putting the display loop inside the while ($row....) loop and outside.

    PHP Code:
    while(list($tbl) = each($tbls)) 

        
    $result mysql_query("SELECT `info1`, `info2` FROM `$tbl`"); 

        while(
    $row mysql_fetch_array($resultMYSQL_ASSOC)) 
        { 
            
    $data[] = $row 
     
    /* PUT LOOP HERE ?? */
        

        
    mysql_free_result($result); 

    I get the error:

    Warning: Variable passed to each() is not an array or object in multitables3.php, with the line referring to the while (list($tbl) = each($tbls)) line.

    Would I be correct in thinking that all the data is read into the $data array and then can be simply displayed using the using method of:

    PHP Code:
    while ($a_row mysql_fetch_row($data))   
    {
      foreach (
    $a_row as $field)
        print 
    "$field";

    This works fine when reading from a single table. Apologies for what is probably an easy answer but I'm still very new to all this.

    Thanks,

    Clive.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,676
    Quote Originally Posted by NogDog
    FYI, mysql_list_tables() is deprecated, and the prefered method to get that info is now...
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SHOW TABLES"); 
    i couldn't remember the syntax for that, so i did it that way, thanks

    this should work
    PHP Code:
     $data = array();

    $db mysql_connect();
    mysql_select_db('db'$db);

    $tbls = @mysql_query("SHOW TABLES"$db);

    while(list(
    $tbl) = mysql_fetch_array($tblsMYSQL_NUM))
    {
        
    $result = @mysql_query("SELECT `info1`, `info2` FROM `$tbl`"$db);

        while(
    $row mysql_fetch_array($resultMYSQL_ASSOC))
        {
            
    $data[] = $row
        
    }
        
    mysql_free_result($result);


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7
    It doesn't seem to like the nested loop or the mysql_free_result lines. Throws up the errors:

    Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in multitables.php on line 38

    Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in multitables.php on line 42
    And to display the data should it be after the two while loops - after filling the $data array - or immediately at that point?

    Thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles