dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Scrollbar question

Scrollbar question

First off, I'd like to thank you for reading this question.

I'm using windows XP and aol 7.0 and I noticed that the default scrollbar uses images rather than colors. I was wondering if it would be possible to define what images you would like your site's scrollbar to use. If there is a way, I'd imagine it would be pretty hard because I've been looking around and trying since XP first came out and I cn't figure it out. Then again...I'm a real newb at this coding stuff. lol. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Re: Scrollbar question

Originally posted by unwise

I'm using windows XP and aol 7.0 and I noticed that the default scrollbar uses images rather than colors.
    Which one has the scrollbar image? What is the image's name? Where did you get the information?

It's the default scrollbar in XP. I'm not quite sure what the imagaes names are but I do know that it uses bitmaps (or .BMP) for it. here is part of a screenshot I just took:
    http://wg584.t35.com/scroll.gif

Originally posted by unwise
    It's the default scrollbar in XP. I'm not quite sure what the imagaes names are but I do know that it uses bitmaps (or .BMP) for it.
    http://wg584.t35.com/scroll.gif
    I will check it out. In win 98 I have changed the start Logo to my own. It had a sys extention. but opens as a bmp. I would think if bmp is a name it would be for various parts of it indivually.
    And you might be right because is is costomizable

I am not exactly sure what you are referring to, but you can (with W98 and AOL, at least) EDIT many of the apparent default scroll and task-bar appearances by going thru the windows registry:

start--"RUN"--type in 'regedit' ---navigate to-- 'HKEY_USER'--open dir: ".DEFAULT" ...

and change whatever you want in the way of harmless edits like the RGB values for the scroll-bars...
    This is a great and easy way to customize your desk-top and all.