www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: I need help with DNS!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3

    I need help with DNS!!!

    Hello! I am planning to run a linux server with apache, php, mysql, and perl. I don't have domain name yet. Do I have to buy a domain name? Can I create a domain name with BIND 8 DNS?

    If I can create my own domain with BIND 8 DNS, can someone gives me the exact step needed to create a kaitech.ca to my ipaddress?

    I am a newbie and don't know much about domain and server. It is very confusing to configure everything. By the way, does it matter if I have just ordinary internet connection and not fancy T1?

    By the way, if you are an expert in web developing, you could add me to your msn: kaitech.ni@hotmail.com.


    Thank you for any suggestions and help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3,056
    Well I'm no expert, but I do have a domain name pointing to my PC. Mine is http://www.dootdootdoodydoodydootdoodoooo.com/ I just bought my domain name from Network Solutions.com and then said to point the name to by IP address which is a standard domestic ADSL connection.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    446
    if you have a dynamic ip address, you will have to use a third party service like clarkconnect / pointclark

    https://secure.clarkconnect.com/webapp/

    But if I remember right, for what they charge a year, you might as well pay someone to host your site.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3,056
    I have a dynamic IP address, I don't use anything like that though. I just leave my PC on.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    I have a static ip address. I hope that is okay for creating my own domains. Buying a domain is a bit expensive for me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2,040
    You can be accessed by your IP address and you do not need a domain name. People will just have to type the IP address in their address bar instead of a name. But you can't use dns without a domain name because that's what it is, Domain Name Service.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    Hello. Thank you for answering. I know ip address sure works, but ip address is hard to memorize. I think I have to register a domain because there is no way of creating a DNS with BIND 8 DNS.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Lithia Springs, GA USA
    Posts
    886
    In order for a domain name to be officially accepted by the severs of the world, which is what you need or no one can ever be pointed to your server, it must be officially registed with ICANN. You have to be a registrar in order to do this. Not just anyone can become a registrar either. First and foremost it takes bundles of cash, secondly you have to be approved.

    Once your domain is registered though it is propagated throughout the world-wide network and stored on various special servers located throughout the world. These servers basically store the information as to where to point someone looking for your domain name.

    You can however make your own domain name to use within your own intranet. You would need to create the files that tell the other computers where that domain is located though. It is the same principal as above except on a much smaller scale.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles