dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dynamic text field in nested mc

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7

    Dynamic text field in nested mc

    I'm having problems with a dynamic text field not displaying its text. It's nested several clips deep, but if I check the "display variables" debug option, it's receiving the text from the variable; if just doesn't show.

    After searching around a bit, I've tried the following things:

    * Setting the mask through ActionScript, rather than through the GUI
    * Making the dynamic text field its own movie clip
    * Embedding the font for the dynamic text field

    None of these, either individually or in any combination with the other methods, have shown the text in the text field. Anyone have any other ideas?

    Rys

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    78
    are the mc's masked?
    You can't mask dynamic text.

    You might have better luck at web developer's sister site
    http://flashkit.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7
    The text box is inside another clip that's masked. I've seen several mentions, though, of tricks to get masks to work with dynamic text. It's just that none of them seem to have worked for me.

    As for Flashkit, I've never once been able to get an response there, so I gave up trying.

    Rys

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    86
    RysChwith,

    Did you embed your font in flash? That's something you have to in order to show masked text.

    3Pinter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7
    Yeah. I embedded lower and upper case characters, as well as numbers and punctuation. I also tried it with Arial and the sans serif device font.

    Rys

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7
    Got the answer I needed here:

    http://www.webwasp.co.uk/forum/index...908&#entry8908

    Turns out that dynamic text fields, when masked, can't be updated by changing the variable. You have to change the text directly. I had tried this, but was using the wrong property (I should've been using htmlText instead of text).

    Rys

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles