www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Stylesheet Links

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frankfort, KY, USA
    Posts
    6,167

    Stylesheet Links

    Hi -

    I tried validating my agency's homepage at http://kdla.ky.gov, and got a bunch of errors regarding the way I set up the stylesheet links. I find this odd in that every reference I've seen has recommended I set them up in this way:

    <LINK REL=stylesheet HREF="CSS/ky_ewdt_standards.css" TYPE="text/css">

    Could someone please provide some feedback as to why my page will not validate (http://validator.w3.org/check?verbos...kdla.ky.gov/)?

    Thanks,
    KDLA

    P.S. - I'm aware of the other problems with the <hr> and border settings.
    FYI
    * My screen resolution is set at 1680x1050
    * I'm accessing your site through a T1 line
    * I'm probably viewing it using Firefox (unless browser is specified)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    XYZZY - UK
    Posts
    1,760
    You need to user lowercase and close the empty elements to begin with, e.g. <meta /> <link /> assuming you were trying to use XHTML.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    345
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="CSS/ky_ewdt_standards.css"/>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frankfort, KY, USA
    Posts
    6,167
    Thanks.

    Dreamweaver's autofill/autocomplete sometimes wreaks havoc with my code.

    KDLA
    FYI
    * My screen resolution is set at 1680x1050
    * I'm accessing your site through a T1 line
    * I'm probably viewing it using Firefox (unless browser is specified)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    I hear you can rework DW's templates to emit better code.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frankfort, KY, USA
    Posts
    6,167
    Yeah... http://www.alistapart.com/articles/dreamweaver/

    But, just when I get everything fixed up like I want it, our IT section changes out my computer. It's tough to keep everything straight.

    Thanks
    FYI
    * My screen resolution is set at 1680x1050
    * I'm accessing your site through a T1 line
    * I'm probably viewing it using Firefox (unless browser is specified)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    Well if not for that then MM would update DW and obsolete your preferences.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frankfort, KY, USA
    Posts
    6,167
    Too true, too true....

    One problem I have is that every time DW is updated, the old templates are left in on my computer. It makes things confusing when trying to customize, not knowing which ones I'm supposed to use, since there are, like, three folders with "default.htm" in them, much left all those commands....

    This could end up a Dreamweaver/Front Page forum
    FYI
    * My screen resolution is set at 1680x1050
    * I'm accessing your site through a T1 line
    * I'm probably viewing it using Firefox (unless browser is specified)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles