www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Domain name forwarding from .ca + .com to .org name

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4

    Question Domain name forwarding from .ca + .com to .org name

    Hello,

    I have a question about redirecting domain names.
    To protect my web ID I have purchased .com and .ca versions of my .org name. However, currently when a user types in the .com or .ca version they get the same content as the .org version, which is good . The bad thing is that in the address bar the name stays as typed, i.e. .com, .ca, or .org. For consistency I want the address bar to display the .org version so when a user types in the .com or .ca version, the address switches to the .org version. A working example of this is on the http://www.davidsuzuki.org/ site. When I type www.davidsuzuki.com the address automatically changes to www.davidsuzuki.org. I was able to mimic this when my .com and .ca versions were not parked on my host. But I need them to be parked on the host so that I can enable email forwarding in case a user sends an email to one of the .com or .ca versions or our old web address.

    The redirect feature in cPanel only works for pointing from a file name to a new domain name... and an HTML-side redirect just loops the redirect into infinity.

    I would really appreciate your help on this.

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    4846′36″ N 910′48″ E
    Posts
    3,747
    Quote Originally Posted by nsfahey
    an HTML-side redirect just loops the redirect into infinity.
    You mean a meta tag?
    like:
    Code:
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=http://domain.com" />

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    That's right. That meta-tag does change the address to the .org version, but infinitely refreshs the page, which prevents the user from doing anything with it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    4846′36″ N 910′48″ E
    Posts
    3,747
    show me the code,
    you should only place the meta-refresh on the ".com" page

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    I've tried
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=http://domain.com" />
    and a simliar re-direct one that I don't immediately have.

    The problem is that the .ca, .com, and .org versions all point to the same web host and so the content is identical. So that means that I can't just put it on the .com version because anything that I upload is the same stuff that all three of the domain names point to. I think it somehow has to be done on the control panel side...

    Is there a way to make it refresh only once?
    Last edited by nsfahey; 12-07-2005 at 02:53 PM. Reason: Addition

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    4846′36″ N 910′48″ E
    Posts
    3,747
    You could have it refreshed to another file (e.g.: commonindex.htm)
    or link the "com" and "ca" domains to a subfolder in which there is an index file that redirects to the parent directory.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Hmmmm... there's gotta be a way to do this on the server side... and the Permanent Redirect create a similar constant loop that results in nothing being loaded regardless of whether or not the .com, .org, or .ca versions are loaded.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles