www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Mac/PC display problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7

    Mac/PC display problems

    hi, i'm a beginner web developer. I use dreamweaver mx 2004. The problem I have is when I built my website, the browsers in Mac shows that it looks perfectly fine. However, when viewing on a PC through internet explorer and others, there is a major difference where i see white spaces and lines where there shouldnt be in between slices (images). I really need to fix this but dont know how to, if anyone can tell me if this is something i need to script in dreamweaver or some come i can just insert to make it look alright in a pc that would be great.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pangea
    Posts
    668
    Post your page so we can take a look at it.
    What browser were you using on the Mac? Safari?
    **(o)>***<(o)
    ___|| * * *
    *||__ , * * * * * * * * (o)>
    \___/ * * * *\___/ * * * * * * *___//
    iiiiLLiiiiiiiiiiiiiii_/_|iiiiiiiiiii~~~~~~ \___/~~~~~~~~~

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7

    webpage

    thanks for your help.

    the webpage can be seen at people.bu.edu/afurkey/

    on a mac on safari, firefox, and iexplorer, it's fine, but on pc, it has the line below the buttons. if you can help i really really appreciate it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    Looks ok in Fx/PC for me but you can't expect consistency without a doctype.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7

    webpage info

    thanks for looking out ray, and all others who are looking to help

    to be more specific, if you can check this part of the website:

    http://people.bu.edu/afurkey/corporate_home.html

    you will notice the line under the buttons... if there are any suggestions, feel free to let me know.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7

    doctype

    sorry for what probably is a very dumb question...

    where can i get a doctype, and where do i exactly put it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    Oh, now I see two problems. In IE you get the gap under the buttons. In Fx the rollovers don't work.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    843
    one thing, whenever i click a link my browser minimizes to the page size, i find that really annoying.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    where can i get a doctype, and where do i exactly put it?
    http://www.alistapart.com/articles/doctype/
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles