dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How to :Image Resize without changing resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    34

    Smile How to :Image Resize without changing resolution

    Hi
    I had a image of size 160 pixels-77 pixels
    I need to change that is enlarge by resizing to somewhat (850 pixels-363 pixels).without changing clarity or resolution. the resolution shld be as i seeing small image. i dont have any software except imaging & paint.

    How it can be done ?
    help me pls.

    pats

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frankfort, KY, USA
    Posts
    6,167
    When you enlarge a small image to that degree, some resolution will be lost. Don't think any sort of image editing program is going to help you there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Manhattan NY
    Posts
    6,028
    KDLA is correct, even the expensive Photoshop and moderately less expensive Paint Shop Pro, cannot do what you wish. There are only a certain number of pixels in an image, and you cannot add more in the enlargement process, therefore clarity loss and distortion cannot be helped.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    843
    the best you could do after you enlarge it is maybe try and sharpen it or apply some effects to it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Escondido, CA
    Posts
    998
    You are asking for way too much. No amount of sharpening is going to help. Sorry.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    7
    All responses to your question are correct. However, you can also download free 30day trial version of photoshop, illustrator or open source Gimp. Then try to enlarge the image and sharpen it to the best possible resolution.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    481
    The quality won't be satisfactory.

    You should always keep a full-size version of all images so that you can resize down to the size you need. Trying to make an image larger than its original will almost always ruin the quality ... unless it's a vector image.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    123
    I agree with the rest.. You can't resize it to that size with out lossing clarity or resolution.

  9. #9
    Ubik's Avatar
    Ubik is offline <%= "New Meja Hor" %>
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    361
    <aol>
    Me 2 - I agree.
    </aol>

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    99
    Good news, this can be done but only to a certain extent. There are programs available like Genuine Fractal that can help. Basically you keep the resolution you start with but the image size increases. I've had mixed results w/ Genuine Fractal but this might help you out.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    34
    Hi pats, Do not try to input more air in to a small baloon. It will get punctured. Small baloons with required air fill are cute baloons. Let them be cute. You are asking more. Technology can do wonders at the same time technology have its own boundries and theories to be followed.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Yes but still, if you do not have the source image, the best you can do is to use spline or fractal upsampling techniques, like in Genuine Fractal.

    http://www.photoshaman.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles