www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tripod sitebuilder refuses to accept editting.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7

    Tripod sitebuilder refuses to accept editting.

    I'm NOT a techie. I've worked hard setting up a site using Tripod sitebuilder, then the text on one page got a lot wider and pushed an image off the page; I tried to fix the mess by Cutting and Pasting the text, hoping it would re-format the text but wound up with and even worse mess - the page now has 2 navigation bars and the "edit text" button needed to edit the body, has dissapeared completely. I'd just delete the page except - you guessed it, it's the index.html page. Is it possible to interchange 2 page URL's making a different page the home page? Alternatively I have already published the site to the web prior to making the mess but not since then; is it possible to replace the "working copy" with the published copy (sort of publishing in reverse)? I'll probobly wind up wiping out the entire website and starting over again but how can I do this and still keep the same URL I had before? Or was my big mistake just in using Tripod?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by rhymecon
    Or was my big mistake just in using Tripod?
    I'd say that you answered your own question. If you need something cheap (free, actually) check out Nvu.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for your reply, jedisb. At least here's a word of advice to anyone thinking of using tripod: Never type a post directly onto tripod; compose it the way you want it in Word (or whatever) and paste it onto your site. (But I won't guarantee this will help.)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    dobson ave.
    Posts
    694
    Hi -
    If I remember correctly, you can do your pages in any program you like, then upload them to Tripod - skipping the sitebuilder altogether. Just try editing what you think [post again if needed] is causing the problem, then re-uploading that page onto their server.

    Good luck,
    El
    F-fox 2.0 :: US :: el design site :: 768 kbps :: WIN

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    Thanks El. I hadn't planned to create pages over again though I will if I must. If there were just some way to delete my hopelessly fouled-up index.html page and name another page index.html I'd be happy as a warm puppy.

    rhymecon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    I received an e-mail on how to salvage the on-line copy but unfortunately I had already deleted it - another dumb thing I had done. So unless it's possible to lable a different page as index.html I'll just have to start from scratch.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles