www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Beginner's Questions

Beginner's Questions

I'm just starting to learn and work with PHP/MySQL for dynamic web pages. I am a little confused on one thing: what does the PHP download actually do? I know it's a real newbie question, but what does it allow me to do or not do. I cannot seem to find a good explaination of that anywhere. Another thing once I have it on my machine, then do I have to put it on my site, or does a websever already have that?

Any answer would be appreciated. Thanks.

dz_boy

P.S. Any tips you would care to give to a beginner? Thanks...

In order to process PHP web pages, the webserver needs to route the source page through the PHP parser/compiler. It parses the PHP portions of the page, compiles it, and executes it, adding any output from it to the http output that is sent to the browser as an HTML page. This parser/compiler is what you would download if you want to run PHP web pages on your PC. You also would need to have a webserver set up on your PC. A fairly painless way to do this is to download and install the XAMPP package, which installs Apache websever and MySQL along with PHP.

As far as your web host, you'll have to check with them to see if they support PHP (and MySQL or other database system if needed). A quick way to check is to create a file on your web site with a ".php" suffix (such as "test.php") and have just the following as the contents:
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    phpinfo
    ();
    ?>
    If, when you access that page from your web host, you get a page with all sorts of info about the PHP installation, then PHP is installed and configured on your host. If all you see are the above lines of code, then it is not.
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

eBookworm.us