www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Dreamweaver - FTP connection error

Exclamation Dreamweaver - FTP connection error

hi, this is my first time uploading a site, i have been able to upload one page and now the message appears:

'An FTP error occurred- cannot make connection to host. the server ...is not responding. please check your connection information'

I may just be stupid and made a stupid mistake, please could someone advise me on what ive done wrong! Ive tried re-entering the ftp name but still doesnt work.

Thanks!

Warning: main(location.php): failed open stream
    click on passive ftp and then try again

I'm having the same problem!

I've tried with the passive FTP option but this doesn't work either...

???

Techtonyx...

I know your a new member but you should not be dragging up old threads from 6 months ago...

In anycase make sure your settings are correct by emailing your hosting support team. If they are correct let us know here and we'll see how we can help further.

Welcome to the site!

Quote Originally Posted by Compguy Pete
    Techtonyx...

I know your a new member but you should not be dragging up old threads from 6 months ago...

In anycase make sure your settings are correct by emailing your hosting support team. If they are correct let us know here and we'll see how we can help further.

Welcome to the site!
    No problems...sorry I didn't even look at the date! I simply did a search to try and find an answer to my problem and this is all I could find...I didn't think it would be an issue but I'll remember for next time! cheers.

I have been in touch with my hosting company and they said I had the correct settings and told me how to upload via ftp and therefore said because I could reach the host that way I must have a setting wrong in dreamweaver.

I'm using windows XP and also a Norton firewall (which I disabled, as I thought this may have been hindering me).

thanks

Exclamation Any Answer