www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: exe file to start CD

exe file to start CD

Good Evening folks

This is my first attempt at posting something having signed on a couple of weeks ago but here goes.

My friend has promised someone that I could copy some of the pages from my web site www.allaboutmarmaris.com on to a CD and also put on a file that would start the CD as one finds on some CD without the need to go to Start/Run etc.

Can anyone help me on this one - where can I find such a file or program????

Thanks in advance

The Magus
    The Magus

You can create them with Flash. Make a movie, with a 'Click to enter' button on it. Link the button relatively to your index. Then use the flash player. It offers an option to 'create projector' - namely an .exe file. Do that and it should work. Use a free disk off a pc mag or something to get the autorun code, and use software like www.irfanview.com to make an icon.

Hope this helps

dave

PS if you haven't got Flash, try www.koolmoves.com - there's a free 30day demo - ample for you to make it!!
    Last edited by DaveSW; 05-06-2003 at 06:55 AM.
    In a world without walls and fences - who needs Windows and Gates?! - Unknown Author
    "And there's Bill Gates, the...most...famous...man in the...ah...Microsoft." -- A TV commentator for the 2000 Olympics.

Web Design Faq? | W3C | Validator | Accessibility testing | Speed up your PC | Wura | Box Model Research

All you really need is an autorun.inf

Basicly open an autorun.inf file from a autorunning CD you own and Look at the file... If I can recall correctly the only line you will need is just.

run=index.html
    that is if your home page is index.
    Compguy Pete
    The Benevolent Administrator

No child should have to deal with a Brain Stem Tumor...
    http://www.OneAna.com

I've only ever got it to work with a .exe file. Maybe it's cos I had the icon code in there.
    In a world without walls and fences - who needs Windows and Gates?! - Unknown Author