www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: WinME

WinME

Alongside being a web developer I am also freelancing as a general IT guy with local small businesses. I have an interesting case I'd like some ideas for.

The company uses a strange conglomeration of Win 98, 95, and ME all networked together. The problem is that recently (within the past few months) the WinME machine has been locking up, running generally slowly, and having strange errors in general. I have come to the conclusion that a full reinstall is necessary, and an upgrade is more than highly reccommended.

The problem is that the owner is wary of reinstalls or upgrades. Basically, he wants me to fix it via the most noninvasive method possible.

I've got RegHealer (a registry "cleaner"), and I've been cleaning off any spyware etc... (not much, it's barely internet capable and he's a man of habit, doesn't go online very much or surf around at all).

So I'm looking at a Windows problem (I hate ME with a passion) that I need to fix without reinstalling windows. Using an overlay reinstall (which I thought was included with ME, where you just reinstall necessary Windows files and leave the rest alone, but I could be wrong) would be preferable....but I guess not possible.

Any ideas?
    -Anthony

Don't have a good solution for you, other than convincing the owner that Win ME was the worst thing M$ ever put out, and that the reliability of his PCs will go way up if you upgrade them to XP.
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

eBookworm.us

Tried that. He had a bad experience with his old computer person, and actually lost somewhere in the ballpark of $15,000 due to the mistake. I had to talk for 30 minutes to explain why updating his Windows was a good idea.