dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Go-Daddy Help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6

    Go-Daddy Help

    I guess I just don't seem to understand how it works. I registered my domain at godaddy.com and can't figure out how to make it so my domain gets the site from my server.

    I serve off of my computer. I can't figure out as to where I put my ip in to go-daddy so that it redirects to my computer. Can some one help me out?

    Right now on the page I registered it has adds for go-daddy, and some other random stuff.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    49
    I don't remember how I did it because it was a while ago, but trying calling them at (480) 505-8899 that should be about the domain support number. That's how I fixed it last time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    16
    I think this is what you do:
    Login to your godaddy account and edit your name servers to reflect the server change. It is usually in this format ns1.somenameserver.com & ns2.somenameserver.com
    But in your case you will want to use your ip as the name servers

    Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    14
    Hi,

    What you will need to do is change the 'A' Records by adding your IP address, using GoDaddy's Total DNS Control. Total DNS Control allows you to perform advanced DNS functions, such as changing your zone records.
    To Manage Your DNS

    1. Log in to your Account Manager.
    2. Under the Domain Names section, select Manage Domains.
    3. Select the domain name you want to modify using the check boxes. Your Domain Details display on the right of the page.
    4. Expand the Nameservers Summary section to see what name servers you are currently using and to change them, if necessary.
    5. Expand the Total DNS Control section to manage subdomains and launch Total DNS Control. Using Total DNS Control, you can modify the zone file (A records and MX records) for your domain.

    Hope this helps

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for the replys I will take a wack at it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Well, I changed my "A" records, and that worked for my main page. Now on my main page I no longer see my ip as the web address.

    I have four other pages that are also apart of this site. They still show my ip address. Any ideas on how to mask them also?

    Thank you for the replies.
    Last edited by help2361; 02-06-2006 at 10:47 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    I figured it out. Every thing works right.

    Thanks again for the help.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles