www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Javascript execution inside innerHTML

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6

    Javascript execution inside innerHTML

    Hello,

    I'm trying to insert a javascript into html code, using innerHTML.

    I can't manage to make this javascript beeing executed.

    Here is the code :

    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <title>test</title>
    </head>

    <body>

    <!-- replace -->

    <script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="bots.js"></script>

    </body>
    </html>
    bots.js :
    var HTML_page = document.body.innerHTML;

    var maReg = new RegExp("<!-- replace -->") ;

    var result = HTML_page.replace( maReg, '<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">alert("ho");</script> hello world' ) ;

    document.body.innerHTML = result;
    The javascript alert("ho") isn't executed...

    How can i fix that ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bathurst, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,357

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    is possible, but on using DOM methods, not innerHTML. But not on inserting javascript code, but changing the SRC of the <script> to another external JS file

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bathurst, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,357
    yeh, it just didnt make sense to me being able to manipulate the innerHTML and do that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    Yes, mserver tell us in fact which is your final aim, and we might find a resonable solution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for your help.

    The final aim of this script is to put an external javascript ad code where "<!-- replace -->" is found on the page.

    -----
    I hope you will support Romania join EU
    Esti roman ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    Isn't it a server-side application better? maybe php...
    Quote Originally Posted by mserver
    Esti roman ?
    Join Date: Dec 2003
    Location: Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts: 4,305

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Isn't it a server-side application better? maybe php...
    I want to make it work on html pages. That's why i'm not using php.

    Join Date: Dec 2003
    Location: Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts: 4,305
    I'm French, living in Romania (Bucharest) since July 2004

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    Let me see if this is what you want. here's an example:
    in the page:
    PHP Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"  "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
    <
    html>
    <
    head>
    <
    title>Untitled Document</title>
    <
    meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <
    meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css">
    <
    meta http-equiv="Content-Script-Type" content="text/javascript">
    <
    script type="text/javascript">
    onload=function(){
    var 
    mys document.createElement('script');
    mys.setAttribute('type','text/javascript');
    mys.setAttribute('src','myjs.js');
    var 
    kids=document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0].childNodes
    for(var i=0;i<kids.length;i++){
    if(
    kids[i].nodeType==8&&kids[i].nodeValue.indexOf('replace')>-1){
    kids[i].parentNode.insertBefore(mys,kids[i].nextSibling);
    break
    }
    }

    }
    </script>
    </head>
    <body>
    <!-- replace -->
    <input type="button" value="CallAlert" onclick="callAlert()">
    </body>
    </html> 
    in your external js file
    PHP Code:
    function callAlert(){
    alert('foo')

    Explanation:
    The code creates a script element and sets some attributes.

    var mys = document.createElement('script');
    mys.setAttribute('type','text/javascript');
    mys.setAttribute('src','myjs.js');

    Sets a variable - the collection of all the childNodes of the body and circles through them

    var kids=document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0].childNodes
    for(var i=0;i<kids.length;i++){
    ......
    }
    if the childNode is a comment (nodeType==8) and if the string "replace" is a substring of the childNode nodeValue (nodeValue.indexOf('replace')>-1) then append the script element imediately after the comment

    kids[i].parentNode.insertBefore(mys,kids[i].nextSibling);

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Thanks a lot for your help.

    It's working with a simple js, but not with a google adsense js like below :

    <script type="text/javascript"><!--
    google_ad_client = "XXXX";
    google_alternate_ad_url = "XXXX";
    google_ad_width = 468;
    google_ad_height = 60;
    google_ad_format = "468x60_as";
    google_ad_type = "text";
    google_ad_channel ="XXXX";
    google_color_border = "FAFCE2";
    google_color_bg = "FAFCE2";
    google_color_link = "006600";
    google_color_url = "006600";
    google_color_text = "000000";
    //--></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js"></script>

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    That is another thing. That launch some functions which need some variables/parameters pre-set. The code will not work even if you simply write:

    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
    </script>

    You will get the same error, so that is not a problem of inserting dynamically a script (that means my code is correct) but a problem to handle that external code

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    Is there a way to insert this kind of code ?
    I've also heard about the eval function, but i have no idea if i can use it for this purpose.
    Unfortunately, i can't use php, because the script will be inserted on html pages...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    360
    Quote Originally Posted by mserver
    ... i can't use php, because the script will be inserted on html pages...
    Then use SSI

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6
    I finally will use
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .html
    to use php into html files.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles