www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Searching through an Excel Doc on a website

Searching through an Excel Doc on a website

Hello!

I am very new here am in desperate need of help. I have never used SQL before, and in fact, dont have a clue what it is. From what i have gathered though it appears to be a programming language.

This is fortunate, however, for i have had 3 programming classes at school (Java, C++, C#, btw, i am still in high school).

in a previous post in another part of this forum, i discovered this

I'm just a beginner.

I've made a simple wegpage in html.

I've also an access database and I've convertid it into an excel file that I stored in as a html page.

I want to make a searchfunction in the first one where you give a name for example and you get a list with all tge found line with your search.

example :

Barry White : xxx
    Barry White : yyy
    Lime : zzz

When you type xxx you get the first line but when you type Barry or White Or barry white you get both lines.

Thanks for your help.

From a man who is tryong to learn and understand but still a dummy!
    from what i gather, this is very similar to the predicament that i am in.

i am creating a cemetary index for my local library, and we have exported the whole listing of the grave plots (names, birth days, death, home town, ect.)to an excel document.

i need to make a portion of my website search through the excel file, but i have also converted it to a html file too, so it doesnt really matter which format it is in, just as long as i can search it.

the followups on that post i have quoted pointed me to this forum, so i have come begging for assistance.

any help would be terrific, and thanks in advance.

EDIT: btw, it would also be very helpful to know what programs i need to use sql. Thanks again
    Last edited by Darth Circuit; 02-08-2006 at 07:29 PM.

Are you using ASP.NET?