dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: INSERT Trigger Help

Unhappy INSERT Trigger Help

Hello. I'm new to Triggers, but based on my design, it seems like I need to get familiar.

Here's the scenario. Three related tables.

tblCap - capID, etc.
    tblBU - buID, busUnit, etc.
    tblCapBuMap - fk_capID, fk_buID, isPrimary

tblCap holds information about trouble ticket escalations, tblBU is a lookup table that contains business units that the trouble ticket can be assigned to (no limit). tblCapBuMap is a map table that will contain which business units are attached to a particular trouble ticket.

What I would like to accomplish is upon inserting a new record in tblCap, I would like to create new records in tblCapBuMap representing all business units (all records in tblBU).

Likewise, when inserting a new record in tblBU, I would need to create a new record in tblCapBuMap for every open record in tblCap.

I've looked through some trigger examples, but most examples don't seem to be anywhere near this complicated and thus I've got no idea where to turn.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
    David

it really comes down to what you're going to be putting in there. what data's going in the table, what's going into the other tables, etc.

Chazzy,
    Thanks for the reply.

The Cap table has information on the details of the escalation. The BU table is just a lookup table containing business Units (Marketing, Sales, etc.). So, when a new record is entered into tblCap, I would like the trigger to insert a record into tblCapBuMap that contains the new escaltions id (capID) and the key for the business units.

Example:

New record gets inserted into tblCap

INSERT INTO tblCap (customer, dateOpened, caseStatus)
    VALUES (Barney's, 11/05/2005, Open)

Once inserted, initiate trigger/cursor to create a record in tblCapBuMap for the new escalation and each business unit:

SELECT * FROM tblBU

INSERT INTO tblCapBuMap (fk_capID, fk_buID, isPrimary)