dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 41

Thread: Link checker

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Britain
    Posts
    1,335
    You might want to talk to Pyro about that - as I said, I'm not brilliant with RegExps. Are you looping through each line looking for things, then printing the contents of the variable? That's what I would try.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    Well, all I know is this ereg/preg_match/preg_match_all stuff gets quite confusing--more so when it doesn't work as expected. lol

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Britain
    Posts
    1,335
    Can you use require() on a file that is on a different server?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    I've never tried (or used) it, how's the syntax? require("http://myotherothersite.com/myfile.php"); right?

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Britain
    Posts
    1,335
    That's it; if that works then you could grab other files.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    Hmmm... It's an idea. Hold on let me test it.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dartmoor [Holiday]
    Posts
    2,382
    Yes, and it should work as long as allow-url-fopen is set on the server. (I just checked the docs).

    Adam

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    Yes, it does work. That's neat.. Now about getting all of the URLs in it...

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Britain
    Posts
    1,335
    I'm starting to think you may have to go via CGI...

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    That's a possibility. Man, I sure wanted to use PHP, though. It's so much easier to find a free server that way. *Sigh*

    CGI is more powerful than PHP, though, isn't it? It's also quite a bit harder... Well, not too hard, but the syntax is a bit different.... And you have to learn how to, "move around" in it.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Britain
    Posts
    1,335
    If you want to find a free web host, try http://www.clickherefree.com. It's a free database of free web hosts. freewebspace.net is another (I think).

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    Don't worry about me, I can find one for free. lol I've been practicing that for over a year now. lol

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Britain
    Posts
    1,335
    Yeah, I've been through geocities, IT3, brinkster, Tripod and only recently have moved on to paying for hosting - at the moment I'm hosting my own, but I'm probably going to move to colocation soon.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10,413
    That's cool.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Britain
    Posts
    1,335
    If you don't need anything that Bravenet isn't already giving you, Brinkster might be better for you. They offer MySQL and ASP, put no ads on your pages, and are free.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles