www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help with layers please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South UK
    Posts
    19

    Help with layers please

    I am making a simple dropdown menu using layers (DIV tag) and it works fine.
    However the main content of the page is centered in the window.
    Not having used layers before, I have just found out that thier posistion is relative to the top-left window corner so that they are in the same posistion (relavtive to the window) no matter what the window size is.

    This don't help me.

    So, is there a way to make a layer stay in the posistion you put it, just like any other item.

    You know what I mean...if you make a table or layout table and then put an image in it somewhere, the image will always be in that same posistion no matter what size the browser window is.
    Can that be done with layers.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    2,653
    just use css property
    position:absolute;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South UK
    Posts
    19
    OK the page in question has an internal style sheet.
    I have mucked about with it and added a few bits to it like:
    div { position:static; }
    div { position:relative; }
    div { position:absolute; }
    (not all together...lol)

    but it don't seem to change the layers posistion, both layers still have a possition absolute to the window.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    2,653
    if you do it right it works as described,is it possible for you to post a link here so that some one can take a look?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South UK
    Posts
    19
    I just uploaded it to my server, you can view it here...

    http://www.gwytherwebdesign.co.uk/testpage.html

    The links in question are [B]Essential Oils[B/] and Book Keeping

    you will see that a layer pops up on MouseOver.

    When view at full screen (high screen res) the layers are in the right place but make the window smaller and it all goes haywire.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by michael; 05-17-2003 at 05:20 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    2,653
    you should be able to get a menu/navigation system already written by some one at this line

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles