dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: How do I add text to rollover buttons?

How do I add text to rollover buttons?

I've designed a hosting template and hope to sell it, but I want to use as much text in dreamweaver as possible instead of graphic text so the client will be able to freely edit titles, headers and button text.

My main question is, how do you place text on rollover buttons in Dreamweaver? I know how to add text to normal buttons but adding text to buttons with rollovers is abit of a problem.

Thanks Anyone

I recommend using CSS Background Image Switching without the part that hides the text.

I hope you don't use DreamWeaver's design view much.

Quote Originally Posted by Kravvitz
    I recommend using CSS Background Image Switching without the part that hides the text.

I hope you don't use DreamWeaver's design view much.
    Thanks for the link, I normally use the split view, what is wrong with using the design view?

I am really new at this, so I apologize ahead of time for any trouble. I have the same problem, but I am using Front Page 2000. I am using java scripts that enable a button to swap images when using onMouseOver and to swap images onMouseDown, with a .au sound onMouseOver and a different sound onMouseDown. I can position text directly over the buttons using absolute positioning, but when the cursor is floated over the button with the text, the text masks the image and the “mouse over” effects won’t work under the text.

Is there a way to make the text transparent to the cursor or unselectable, so the “I” bar doesn’t show up when the cursor is over the text? I would rather not use a different image for every link and all the functions are working great so far, with just this text problem.

Here is a link to what I am working on, any help would be greatly appreciated. http://www.lalong.net/testing/mrollover.htm

Use background images, like I said.

Design/program for Firefox (and/or Opera), apply fixes for IE, not the other way around.