www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Website that pulls info from database?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5

    Website that pulls info from database?

    I would like to create a website with a list of addresses/names/phone numbers for different categories. Kind of like a directory. I would like to pull this information from a database if possible. Is there any way to do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Worthington, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,634
    Sure, just need a database on the server and a server side language - ASP, ASP.Net, PHP, Java, or JSP are fairly common.
    54 68 65 42 65 61 72 4D 61 79

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5
    That sounds difficult. The only thing I know is html. Do you know of any tutorial that could help me out?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    18,918
    Quote Originally Posted by beckster2001
    That sounds difficult. The only thing I know is html. Do you know of any tutorial that could help me out?
    Start by determining what server-side language(s) and database(s) your web host supports. That will narrow down the selection.

    If PHP is an option, take a look at http://www.zend.com/php/beginners/index.php to get started.
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy

    OK. So I am working on antiquesinva.com . On the index page I have a pull down menu. I'm trying to get the first option "Portsmouth" to work. The portsmouth.asp page comes up, but is not displaying the information I had hoped. I created portsmouth.asp hoping to pull information from a database. The database is called antiquesdb, but the table is called stores. I can't get any info from the database to show. Help please!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Manhattan NY
    Posts
    6,028
    This isn't a quick and easy thing to explain. What's in this asp file you created? 1st you need to make a connection to the database, and you need to know the connection string for that database. You need a SQL statement, such as:

    SELECT blah FROM tableName WHERE someCondition = someValue;

    I assume you plan to use vbscript as the scripting language.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5
    In the portsmouth.asp file it says:
    <%@ Language="VBScript" %>
    <% Option Explicit %>
    and in the body of the html it says:
    SELECT store_name, store_address, store_city, store_phone
    FROM stores
    WHERE store_city = 'Portsmouth'
    ORDER BY store_name;

    But when the website loads it just displays all my code! How do I get the database to load?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    Problems so far.
    1. Your host doesn't support ASP.
    2. You don't have a database named stores or if you do you haven't made a connection to it.
    3. You don't have any code that creates or reads a record set that would be returned by your SQL query.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Manhattan NY
    Posts
    6,028
    But that's not close to a complete asp file. There's no connection to the db, there's no loop, there's no variables to hold the data, surrounded by the displaying elements for the html.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5
    Here is the entire code I have:
    <%@ Language="VBScript" %>
    <% Option Explicit %>


    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>Portsmouth Antiques</TITLE>
    </HEAD>

    <BODY>
    SELECT store_name, store_address, store_city, store_phone
    FROM stores
    WHERE store_city = 'Portsmouth'
    ORDER BY store_name;
    </BODY>
    </HTML>


    I know my server does support ASP. I got a test page to work on it. I use godaddy.com. My database is called "antiquesdb", but the actual table I want to use is called "stores". Can someone give me the code I need to connect to my database? I really, really want to learn how to do this. I hope you all have patience to work with me.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jerryville, Tejas
    Posts
    11,715
    Back in the day I found http://asp101.com/ very handy.
    "Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." Brian W. Kernighan

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Worthington, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,634
    Here's a slightly modified example from the Samples directory that comes with the IIS install:
    Code:
    <%@ LANGUAGE = VBScript %>
    <%  Option Explicit		%>
    
    <HTML>
        <HEAD>
            <TITLE>Simple ADO Query</TITLE>
        </HEAD>
    
        <BODY BGCOLOR="White" topmargin="10" leftmargin="10">
    
    		<!-- Display Header -->
    
    		<font size="4" face="Arial, Helvetica">
    		<b>Simple ADO Query with ASP</b></font><br>
        
    		<hr size="1" color="#000000">
    
    		<%
    			Dim oConn
    			Dim oRs
    			Dim filePath
    			Dim Index
    
    
    			' Map database to physical path
    			filePath = Server.MapPath("antiquesdb.mdb")
    
    
    			' Create ADO Connection Component to connect
    			' with sample database
    
    
    			
    			Set oConn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    			oConn.Open "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" & filePath
    
    			
    			' Execute a SQL query and store the results
    			' within recordset
    			
    			Set oRs = oConn.Execute("SELECT store_name, store_address, store_city, store_phone FROM stores WHERE store_city = 'Portsmouth' ORDER BY store_name;")
    		%>
    
    
    		<TABLE border = 1>
    		<%
    			Do while (Not oRs.eof) %>
    
    				<tr>
    					<% For Index=0 to (oRs.fields.count-1) %>
    						<TD VAlign=top><% = oRs(Index)%></TD>
    					<% Next %>
    				</tr>
    
    				<% oRs.MoveNext 
    			Loop
    		%>
    
    
    		</TABLE>
    
    
    		<%
    			oRs.close
    			oConn.close
    		%>
    
    	</BODY>
    </HTML>
    54 68 65 42 65 61 72 4D 61 79

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles