www.webdeveloper.com
Recent Articles
  • Finding Slow Running Queries in ASE 15
  • A More Advanced Pie Chart for Analysis Services Data
  • Adobe AIR Programming Unleashed: Working with Windows
  • Performance Testing SQL Server 2008's Change Data Capture Functionality
  • The ABC's of PHP: Introduction to PHP
  • How to Migrate from BasicFiles to SecureFiles Storage
  • Why the Twitter Haters Are Wrong
  • User Personalization with PHP: Beginning the Application
  • Whats in an Oracle Schema?
  • Lighting Enhancement in Photoshop
  •  

    Go Back   WebDeveloper.com > Site Management > Domain Names

    Domain Names Discussion of various issues involving domain names.

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
      #1  
    Old 10-07-2009, 09:04 AM
    Iron Man Iron Man is offline
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Posts: 1
    I just received one of these too. Here is what I did.

    I just received one of these too. The wording is very similar to those listed above. It is interesting that they clam another company is requesting to register domains that I already own and have been pointing to my web site for years and are completely current! The letter contained a list of domains allegedly desired by this other company, but they put a space after the “.” In all the domains like this: www. xxxx.com with the space before the first x. I nearly had a heart attack when I clicked the links in the letter and saw all these open to 404 error pages instead of the pages I thought they were aimed at! I found the space and realized that it was a hoax.

    All the domains but two were working and pointing to my website as they should. I was able to register the two other domains for a few bucks with another registrar and I now regard the matter closed. This is a pretty good scam that allows the scammer to sell highly overpriced domains to the unwary, when they can be purchased from other registrars for a lot less.

    Iron Man
    Reply With Quote
      #2  
    Old 11-10-2009, 08:39 AM
    sahdow sahdow is offline
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Posts: 1
    Reply: I don't get what the scam is?

    The scam is they get you to register your domain with China's extension.

    ie..

    domain.com
    domain.net
    domain.org
    domain.cn
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks


    Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools Search this Thread
    Search this Thread:

    Advanced Search
    Display Modes Rate This Thread
    Rate This Thread:

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is Off
    HTML code is Off
    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.



    Acceptable Use Policy

    internet.comMediabistrojusttechjobs.comGraphics.com

    WebMediaBrands Corporate Info


    Advertise | Newsletters | Feedback | Submit News

    Legal Notices | Licensing | Permissions | Privacy Policy

    Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
    Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.