www.webdeveloper.com
Recent Articles
  • Finding Slow Running Queries in ASE 15
  • A More Advanced Pie Chart for Analysis Services Data
  • Adobe AIR Programming Unleashed: Working with Windows
  • Performance Testing SQL Server 2008's Change Data Capture Functionality
  • The ABC's of PHP: Introduction to PHP
  • How to Migrate from BasicFiles to SecureFiles Storage
  • Why the Twitter Haters Are Wrong
  • User Personalization with PHP: Beginning the Application
  • Whats in an Oracle Schema?
  • Lighting Enhancement in Photoshop
  •  

    Go Back   WebDeveloper.com > Site Management > Domain Names

    Domain Names Discussion of various issues involving domain names.

     
     
    Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
    Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
      #1  
    Old 06-29-2008, 10:38 AM
    ellomoto ellomoto is offline
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: May 2007
    Posts: 9
    Internet Trademark email - spam or scam?

    I recently got an email from a domain registration company in Hong Kong who said

    Quote:
    Dear CEO,

    We are a domain name registrar centre in HongKong, and in charge of the registeration in Asia,We have something important need to confirm through your company.

    We received a formal application from a company called "Ply International Holdings Ltd" applying to register

    Internet trademark:

    my-domain

    And the domain names
    my-domain.asia
    my-domain.cn
    my-domain.com
    my-domain.com.cn
    my-domain.com.tw
    my-domain.hk
    my-domain.net.cn
    my-domain.org.cn
    my-domain.tw

    in China and also in Asia on Jun.20 2008.

    During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged "Ply International Holdings Ltd" has no trade mark,Intellectual property, nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged "Ply International Holdings Ltd" to be a domain grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things,

    First of all, whether this alleged "Ply International Holdings Ltd" is your business partner or distributor in Asia

    Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains. (The alleged "Ply International Holdings Ltd" will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)

    If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept.in order to deal with this issue better, please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible.

    Best Regards,

    Jane
    I'm not the person to respond to anything which looks fishy, if you catch my drift. But I have been wondering to myself what the point of this email was, if it had one at all. I own my-domain.co.uk untill the end of this year at which time I will renew it for another two years. I have no interest in buying any of the other TLD's. If ply international holdings ltd buy up all the domains that they want and start to run the world do they have any rights over my-domain.co.uk because they have the internet trademark my-domain, if their is such a thing?

    Reply With Quote
     

    Bookmarks


    Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools Search this Thread
    Search this Thread:

    Advanced Search
    Display Modes Rate This Thread
    Rate This Thread:

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is Off
    HTML code is Off
    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.



    Acceptable Use Policy

    internet.comMediabistrojusttechjobs.comGraphics.com

    WebMediaBrands Corporate Info


    Advertise | Newsletters | Feedback | Submit News

    Legal Notices | Licensing | Permissions | Privacy Policy

    Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
    Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.