/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Folks,

For 2yrs now, in many forums I’ve been told to learn pdo. Been telling every programmer that said this that I will soon. Soon like next week or next fortnight and so on. And now, it’s 2yrs passed and I still haven’t started it. And so, I thought I will start it tonight.
Reading pdodelusions.com which everyone kept recommending.
As I read along and come across things I really do not understand, I will bother you people in this thread.
And yes, after 2yrs of starting on php, I am still a beginner. πŸ˜‰

Where is that Benanamen who kept bugging me to start on pdo from forum to forum ? Lol! πŸ˜€
He’ll probably be glad that I finally hopped-on board! πŸ˜‰ Right Benny ?

to post a comment
PHP

5 Comments(s) ↴

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@site-developerauthorMar 15.2019 β€”Β "PDO is a Database Access Abstraction Layer".

Q1. Just what is "abstraction layer" ?

Q2. I do not understand this part about "Connecting DSN":

_"Connecting. DSN

PDO has a fancy connection method called DSN. It's nothing complicated though - instead of one plain and simple list of options, PDO asks you to input different configuration directives in three different places:

database driver, host, db (schema) name and charset, as well as less frequently used port and unix_socket go into DSN;

username and password go to constructor;

all other options go into options array.

where DSN is a semicolon-delimited string, consists of param=value pairs, that begins from the driver name and a colon:

mysql:host=localhost;dbname=test;port=3306;charset=utf8mb4
driver^ ^ colon ^param=value pair ^semicolon

Note that it's important to follow the proper format - no spaces or quotes or other decorations have to be used in DSN, but only parameters, values and delimiters, as shown in the manual.

Here goes an example for mysql:
<i>
</i>$host = '127.0.0.1';
$db = 'test';
$user = 'root';
$pass = '';
$charset = 'utf8mb4';