/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Jumbotron video background not displaying on mobiles

I am fairly new to coded web dev and have hit a snag with a WordPress site. As the title suggests, I have embedded a video background into the jumbotron and the video only displays on desktops and desktop view on mobile devices. If viewed in mobile view the video does not display, it only has a background coloured space in it’s place. After much research it seems the issue is related to the fact that mobile browsers are designed to stop embedded videos to save on data costs etc (which these days shouldn’t be an issue). I have thought about forcing the website to display in desktop view every time but I don’t believe that is the correct solution as we should be developing mobile first where possible. Can anyone think of a solution to get the video to display on all mobile devices please? (p.s. why do Google insist on mobile first when their own browser won’t support basic website functions on mobile??? …rant over)

Thanks ahead for any help on this people 🙂

to post a comment

3 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@derekrobertsMar 17.2019 — I think autoplay for videos is more and more being considered bad practice in web development because the user often finds it annoying or intrusive, sometimes even embarrassing. One solution which may not be preferred from your perspective but I think is preferred from the user perspective, is to display the video in an html video player (or some simple embedded video player) to give the user playback control.
@muppetauthorMar 17.2019 — Hi Derek,