/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Modal Close – Jumping to Top of Page

First off … I’m primarily a designer, and not a programmer, so be gentle and use small words when providing help 😀

I have a css modal window. When I click the link, a modal window opens. When I close the link, the window closes, and the page jumps all the way to the top of the page. I need the page to stay where it is when the modal window is closed.

After doing some searching, I know this is because of the anchor tag being called in the href close link:

`<a class=”modal-close” href=”#” onclick=”modal_close(‘ModalVid’);”>&times;</a>
`

I posted the modal code on codepen… https://codepen.io/jabbamonkey/pen/JjPMmKv

**WHAT I’VE TRIED**
After some online searching, I saw recommendations to add the preventDefault() function OR “return false”. So, I tried to add it to the onclick close function … but neither worked. I may not be using the two correctly (my knowledge of javascript is pretty limited)

PREVENTDEFAULT()

“`
function modal_close(id) {
var ModalVideo = document.getElementById(id);
ModalVideo.pause();
preventDefault();
}
“`

RETURN FALSE

“`
function modal_close(id) {
var ModalVideo = document.getElementById(id);
ModalVideo.pause();
return false
}
“`

Other recommendations said to try to add “overflow: hidden;” to the body, but I think that recommendation only works for jquery bootstrap modals.

Please help. Thanks…

to post a comment
JavaScript

4 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@codyhillSep 17.2019 — @jabbamonkey#1608841 Fixed it!

https://codepen.io/raul-rogojan/pen/eYOLPjo?editors=1000

**_The problem:_**

You see, every time you have an a tag with href="#". that link button will ALLWAYS make the jump to the top of the page. If you add an ID then it will jump to the specific id. [Here](https://codepen.io/raul-rogojan/pen/OJLoBdz?editors=0010) I created an example for you.