/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Search for specific string, return whats after it.

Find a specific string in a online text box (description), and then count and grab every letter until the period.

Hello. First time poster, long time lurker.

I am not a JS programmer, my experience comes from old Visual Basic. I started in VB 3.0 and started with the old Web 1.0/html JS. I am not up on the current languages. That said, I am asking for help with this. I will give you credit in the notes for anyone who can help me out.

I need to write a script that does the follow:

I am the webmaster of a site that sells products. Every one of our posts start out with “You’re viewing a “. Everything after that last space needs to be grabbed until the sentence ends with a period. That grabbed string then needs to be saved as a variable and the recalled into its own text box to be used a a custom label.

I assume we can use search() and some other functions to get this done.

If it doesn’t find what we are looking for i need it to return an error and then simply display nothing in the custom textbox.

Please help me out guys. I do not have too much time to get this done. Also, if you’re unwilling to help maybe you guys know a cheap custom programer I can hire. I know there are websites out there, but for the life of me i forget which ones i used in the past.

Thank you for reading and your anticipated assistance.

to post a comment
CSSHTMLJavaScript

6 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@JMRKERMar 06.2020 — Do you have any sample strings to parse after ..."viewing a ."?

Have you created a layout of the input and output fields you wish to display?

There is a lot of missing information as to what you are trying to accomplish so a brief example of your input and expected outputs would at least start some further discussions toward a solution.