/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

How to structure a basic Real Estate website Database

Hello,

I’m working on a basic functional real estate Database website. I am actually working on how to build an efficient and scalable database for the website. how can I separate the data, for example should I separate the address from the property table etc. What are some best practice I can apply to build a good and scalable database. I’m a bit new to database modeling so feel free propose a database design. This is what I’ve been doing so far, its really primitive:

Thanks

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-5OXM1x0sDffDDEqRmYq_pG60wfzrHN1/view?usp=sharing

to post a comment

5 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@sibertSep 15.2021 — > @Salvignol#1637057 for example should I separate the address from the property table etc

You can have several tables. The benefits of this is that you can add assets dynamically.

users -> property -> asset links (many to many) -> assets (1 pool, 2 cooling 3 +endless assets)

You can also have type and mode in a separate lookup table. As type and mode normally will be one to many there is no need for a link table.

This makes it more expandable in the future.
@SalvignolauthorSep 15.2021 — @sibert#1637058 By asset links do you mean that the assets table as a foreign key to assets link, I'm a bit confused when it comes to using many to many relations 😅
@sibertSep 15.2021 — > @Salvignol#1637059 By asset links do you mean that the assets table as a foreign key to assets link

As the property can have many "assets" (like pool, bathroom etc cannot find a better word...). And each asset can belong to many properties, you have to have a "table" between. Have a look at this answer (scroll down) to a description of a "link table" to manage many-to-many relations.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/7296846/how-to-implement-one-to-one-one-to-many-and-many-to-many-relationships-while-de