/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Passing Html form to JavaScript "undefined Error"

Hello All this is my first time posting to this form so I hope my question is clear and concise.

I have a Html form :

[CODE] <form action=”” method=”post” id=”form”>
<input type=”Text” name=”userInput” value=””>
</form>
[/CODE]

The user will enter in a name of a item and this name will be passed to a function :

[CODE]
function init(){
var input = document.forms[‘form’].elements[‘userInput’].value ;
}
[/CODE]

Next I take the variable input and insert that into my sql statement which is suppose to query my data table and send back my bounds of the location of that item and zoom in.

[CODE]setTimeout(function() {
var sql = new cartodb.SQL({ user: ‘jnmn11’ });
sql.getBounds(“select * From stations where station_nm Like ‘” + input + “‘”).done(function(bounds) {
map.fitBounds(bounds)
});
}, 2000);
[/CODE]

If I hard code the name in my script functions as expected however when trying to get the input box to send the user input to my function I am getting a Undefined error within the Url being sent:
sql?q=SELECT%20ST_XMin(ST_Extent(the…*%20From%20stations%20where%20station_nm%20Like%20’undefined’)%20as%20subq”

I used this site to create my form input function and am not quite sure if I am missing something?

to post a comment
JavaScript

4 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@GettingSmartSep 11.2013 — The variable you set in the init function will not last as soon as the function stops.

I'm not a guru on javascript but you need to find a way to set the variable outside of the function.

Maybe you need to create the variable before starting the init function?
@PadonakSep 12.2013 — if you need the result of init() not only once, as [B]GettingSmart[/B] already said, you must define the var outside the function to store the result of its work or make the function return the needed value

<i>
</i>function init(){