/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Easy and Efficient "Tool Sets" and Frameworks for Development? IDE? Laravel, Meteor?

I’m an “old school” coder. But writing web apps last few years using PHP/MySQL/Javascript/JQUERY/Bootstrap primarily although Bootstrap I’m pretty green on as most the apps I’ve worked on I got the CSS library from a template and such.

I’d like to get a bit more efficient and developing more sophisticating apps. I’ve been coding for over 30 years but I’m out of touch with the current tool set that is widely viewed as the best of breed. I’ve been using a combination of tools like Notepad++, PHPMyAdmin, Coffee Cup Web Form Builder, etc. Pretty crude stuff. I’m 100% LAMP, no MS .NET, no thanks.

My head is swiming looking at all the options. Would greatly appreciate some input on what to zero in on. I’m not sure what fits together with what optimally. The key is I’m used to “hand conding” most stuff, and I really don’t have a lot of free time (or patience) to learns some IDE / MVP system that is overly complicated. Looking for a recipe that gives the “best bang for the buck” so to speak, buck = learning curve – I don’t want to have to spend money (at least not anything signficant) – I’m an Open Source Enthusiast.

Things that have peaked my interest:

• IDEs: NetBeans, Eclipse

• PHP Frameworks: Laravel, Zend (not going with Zend, consensus is it’s overly complicated and has “fallen behind”)

• Foundation versus Bootstrap? I’ve yet to memorize much of the Bootstrap CSS objects.

• Angular.js ReactJS and Meteor – Not sure how these “fit with” the above – each has it’s pluses and minuses but sounds like Meteor has the shortest learning curve followed by React.

• What say the seasoned developers out there that have tried most all of this stuff?

to post a comment
    PHP

13 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts: